How to Get Executive Buy-In For a Media Database Service Download Guide

The Top 20 #SOTU Social Influencers on Twitter

President Barack Obama’s 2016 State of the Union address generated close to 1.4 million tweets, with about a million of those coming during the speech itself.

We tracked the influencers and created the Top 20 #SOTU Social Influencers list using Cision’s Influencer Search.

Cision’s Influencer Search is a proprietary feature that ranks influencers of conversation topics based on social posts, shares and relevancy on Twitter.

The following list was pulled during Obama’s 8th and final State of the Union Address on January 12th, 2016 at 9 p.m. ET.

1. Katie Couric – @katiecouric

@YahooNews Global Anchor.

2. Philip Campbell – @naturenews

The latest science news and opinion from the news team at Nature, the international weekly journal of #science. For tweets about primary research, see@nature.

3. Roland S. Martin – @rolandsmartin

Host/managing editor of TV One’s daily morning show, NewsOne Now; senior analyst, Tom Joyner Morning Show; author; international speaker; CEO, Nu Vision Media

4. Brian Stelter – @brianstelter

CNN’s senior media correspondent and host of @CNNReliable. Formerly@nytimes, @tvnewser and Top of the Morning. Email: bstelter@gmail.com

5. Luke Russert – @lukerussert

Cover Capitol Hill for @nbcnews

6. Andrew H. Malcolm – @ahmalcolm

Political news & commentary from Andrew Malcolm of Investor’s Business Daily. (formerly Top of the Ticket @ latimestot)

7. Michael Skolnik – @MichaelSkolnik

Entrepreneur, Activist and Storyteller. Father to the champ, Mateo Ali. Board Member, Trayvon Martin Foundation. Contact: info@mskolnik.com

8. Jonathan Capehart – @capehartj

Opinion Writer for the Washington Post and MSNBC Contributor

9. Kelly O’Donnell – @kellyo

@NBCNews Capitol Hill Correspondent. Politics, Campaigns & Congress for@todayshow, @nbcnightlynews and@msnbc. Proud alum @NorthwesternUInstagram @TheKellyO

10. Luvvie Ajayi – @luvvie

Wacky Wordsmith. Side-Eye Sorceress. Foolery Enthusiast. TV Buff. Shoe Fiend. Travel Junkie. Professional Troublemaker. Also: @iLuvvit.

11. Sally Kohn – @sallykohn

@CNN political commentator | Essayist | Keynote Speaker | Mom | Optimist | Lost soul, fishbowl, etc.

12. Bianna Golodryga – @biannagolodryga

Yahoo! News and Finance Anchor, wife, mother, proud immigrant

13. Garance Franke-Ruta – @thegarance

Editor in Chief, @YahooPolitics, a@YahooNews production. Politics, media, breaking.

14. Kate Snow – @tvkatesnow

Anchor of @NBCNightlyNews Sunday, Anchor @MSNBC, National Correspondent @NBCNews.

15. Margaret Brennan – @margbrennan

CBS News Correspondent covering Foreign Affairs & the White House, traveler, fmr financial anchor, @UVAalum, Connecticut Yankee. Retweets aren’t endorsements

16. Chad Pergram – @ChadPergram

Chad Pergram covers Congress for FOX News. He’s won an Edward R. Murrow Award and the Joan Barone Award for his reporting on Capitol Hill.

17. Lynn Sweet – @lynnsweet

Lynn Sweet is a columnist and Washington Bureau Chief at the Chicago Sun-Times. Was columnist at late PoliticsDaily.

18. David Drucker – @DavidMDrucker

@dcexaminer Senior Congressional Correspondent covering Capitol Hill, campaigns & national political trends.

19. James Hohmann – @jameshohmann

National Political Correspondent for The Washington Post, Author of The Daily 202, Anchor of @PowerPost

20. Joel Pollak – @joelpollak

Writer, Husband, Dad. Breitbart California. Pro: Constitution, legal immigration, free trade, military, Israel. Happy.

Want to see top social media influencers from the 2016 Golden Globes? Click here!

Tags : social media

About Michelle Dziuban

Michelle Dziuban is the Social Media Manager for Cision, where she has worked since 2012. With a background in marketing and advertising, she loves keeping tabs on emerging industry trends. Most recently, she appeared on one of the most popular marketing podcasts in the world, Jay Baer’s Social Pros Podcast (How B2B’s Can Rock Facebook Live Video) and authored a byline on CMO.Com (What CMO’s Need to Know About Live-Streaming). In her free time, Michelle enjoys yoga, running and being outdoors. Find her on Twitter @dziubs.

Recent Posts

Cision Blogs

  • Communications Best Practices

    Get the latest updates on PR, communications and marketing best practices.

  • Cision Product News

    Keep up with everything Cision. Check here for the most current product news.

  • Executive Insights

    Thought leadership and communications strategy for the C-suite written by the C-suite.

  • Media Blog

    A blog for and about the media featuring trends, tips, tools, media moves and more.