Cision® acquires ShareIQ technology, enhancing Cision Communications Cloud® capabilities Read More

The Top 50 Baseball Influencers

Baseball fans everywhere will be tuning in tonight to witness the culmination of one of the most exciting – and emotional – championships in sports history.

The Chicago Cubs. The Cleveland Indians. Game 7 of the World Series.

As Grant Brisbee described it on SB Nation, the Cubs and Indians are playing the cruelest Game 7 ever. And with a combined championship drought of 174 years, this battle of the underdogs is difficult to wrap our heads around. Brisbee goes on to write:

It’s as if I’ve been preparing for a decade to use words to explain what a World Series Game 7 between the Cubs and Indians will be like, and realizing that I’m completely outclassed. Are there words for this? It’s a whale song of supreme glory, of supreme defeat, sung across the planes of time.

Without a doubt, baseball is still America’s pastime, and it shows in the conversations happening on social media.

In Cision’s latest research report, we’ve analyzed the social media mentions of 8,386,000 baseball team Twitter followers, examining their interests, demographics and regions — right down to what sort of food they most often discuss.  

For instance, the analysis uncovered baseball team followers are certified news junkies, with a greater likelihood than the average Twitter user to follow local, international and national news. You can read more about this analysis by downloading the free report Major League Insights into Baseball’s Social Media Fans.

major league insights blog banner

To complement this research (much like a ballpark hot dog and beer), Cision’s Media Research team has identified the top 50 baseball influencers (including the afore-quoted Brisbee). They compiled the list below using our media database, with members of the media ranked by number of mentions of “Baseball” as a keyword. All numbers were pulled October 14, 2016.

  1. Jesse Spector, Sporting News – @jessespector
  2. Ray Flowers, Baseball Guys – @BaseballGuys
  3. Ted Schwerzler, Off the Baggy – @tlschwerz
  4. Brad Robinson, Illinois Radio Network – @bradrobinson8
  5. Mark Viviano, WJZ-TV – @markwjz
  6. Derrick Goold, St. Louis Post-Dispatch – @dgoold
  7. Jared Diamond, The Wall Street Journal – @jareddiamond
  8. Jonah Keri, The Jonah Keri Podcast – @jonahkeri
  9. Grant Brisbee, McCovey Chronicles – @mccoveychron
  10. Aaron Gleeman, Baseball Prospectus  – @aarongleeman
  11. Buster Olney, ESPN The Magazine – @buster_espn
  12. Eric Sondheimer, Los Angeles Times – @latsondheimer
  13. Matt Ehalt, The Record – @mattehalt
  14. Paul Swydan, Hardball Times – @Swydan
  15. Ted Berg, USA Today – @OGTedBerg
  16. Jose de Jesus Ortiz, St. Louis Post-Dispatch – @ortizkicks
  17. Andy McCullough, Los Angeles Times – @mcculloughtimes
  18. John Stolnis, WestwoodOne – @FelskeFiles
  19. Kari Van Horn, KNXV-TV Online – @karivanhorn
  20. Evan Drellich, Boston Herald – @EvanDrellich
  21. Julie DiCaro, WSCR-AM Online – @juliedicaro
  22. Josh Kraushaar, National Journal – @HotlineJosh
  23. Anthony DiComo, MLB.com – @AnthonyDiComo
  24. Kurt Mensching, SB Nation – @bybkurt
  25. Chris De Luca, Chicago Sun-Times – @ChrisDeLuca
  26. Howard Megdal, POLITICO New York – @howardmegdal
  27. Sal Maiorana, Democrat and Chronicle – @salmaiorana
  28. Kevin Kernan, New York Post – @whereskernan
  29. Lynn Henning, The Detroit News – @lynn_henning
  30. Marc Normandin, Over the Monster – @marc_normandin
  31. John Walters, Newsweek – @jdubs88
  32. Adam Rubin, ESPN New York – @adamrubinespn
  33. Tom Hoffarth, Daily News – @tomhoffarth
  34. Peter Abraham, The Boston Globe – @PeteAbe
  35. Chad Finn, The Boston Globe – @GlobeChadFinn
  36. Chris Cwik, Yahoo Sports – @chris_cwik
  37. Adam Gerstenhaber, WKRK-FM – @AdamtheBullFAN
  38. Chris Dachille, WBAL-TV – @WBALDash
  39. Jayson Stark, ESPN – @jaysonst
  40. Matt Michaels, The Big Show – KTGR-AM – @ktgrmatt
  41. Richard Justice, MLB.com – @richardjustice
  42. J.P. Hoornstra, Inside the Dodgers – @jphoornstra
  43. Bob Fescoe, KCSP-AM – @bobfescoe
  44. Morgan Lee, Christianity Today – @mepaynl
  45. Bruce Arthur, Toronto Star – @bruce_arthur
  46. Ben Cafardo, ESPN – @Ben_ESPN
  47. Mike Lindsley, WSKO-AM – @mikelsports
  48. Sammy Roth, The Desert Sun – @Sammy_Roth
  49. Dan Cook, Chad Hartman – WCCO-AM – @DanCookWCCO
  50. Jesse Rogers, Chicago Cubs Report – ESPN Chicago – @ESPNChiCubs

Download Major League Insights Into Baseball’s Social Media Fans to learn more about who’s talking about baseball and what they’re saying. In it, we share insights into the social media personas of baseball fans and offer tips on how you can use data generated from social media to manage your marketing more effectively.

Cision Senior Marketing Manager Amanda Hicken and the Cision Media Research team contributed to this article.

About Cision Media Research

The Cision Media Research Team maintains a database of more than 1.6 million records​, including social influencers, traditional media contacts, outlets and opportunities. We collect and maintain the latest contact and pitching information of bloggers and journalists who can spread your message, broaden your campaign and help you build relationships with the people who matter. Follow us at @Media_Moves

Recent Posts

Cision Blogs

  • Communications Best Practices

    Get the latest updates on PR, communications and marketing best practices.

  • Cision Product News

    Keep up with everything Cision. Check here for the most current product news.

  • Executive Insights

    Thought leadership and communications strategy for the C-suite written by the C-suite.

  • Media Blog

    A blog for and about the media featuring trends, tips, tools, media moves and more.